If You Liked this Book

Fiction Read-Alikes

Skeletons at the Feast by Chris Bohjalian.  Excerpts taken from an unpublished diary make up the background of this novel which details Jewish women struggling to survive WW11. This novel follows the journey of one woman and her family as they try to flee westward during the final months of the war.  Like The Hangman’s Daughter this book is another detailed historical fiction about Germany.

Corrag by Susan Fletcher.  This novel follows a Scottish woman who has been accused of witchcraft and imprisoned for the murder of 38 people.  The first person narration in this novel gives the reader an intimate look into the life of a woman accused of witchcraft for reasons beyond her control as well as daily life in 17th century Scotland.  Readers who enjoy relaxed, character-driven novels with rich details may enjoy this novel.

Newes from the Dead by Mary Hooper.  Written from a first person narrative and full of rich historical detail, this novel follows Anne Green who is sentenced to die for the murder of her child, but in fact survives the execution.  For readers also interested in the medical aspect of executions, this novel also offers the point of view of a young physician charged with dissecting the young Anne Green.  Readers who enjoyed the gory details of The Hangman’s  Daughter may also enjoy this novel.

The Witch of Cologne by Tobsha Learner.  Another detailed work of historical fiction, this novel takes place in the 17th century and follows a Jewish midwife as she is persecuted by the Spanish Inquisition.

An Instance of the Fingerpost by Iain Pears.  This novel is a work of historical mystery is set in the 17th century and told from the point of view of four characters. Readers who enjoyed the plot twists, rich details, and strong sense of place in The Hangman’s Daughter may enjoy this read.

The Pied Piper’s Poison by Christopher Wallace.  This work of historical fiction combines a four century account of European history and evil demons that roam the continent and spread violence. For readers who enjoyed the medicine, mystery, and history of The Hangman’s Daughter this may be an enjoyable read.

Non-Fiction Read-Alikes

Witches and Witch Hunts: A History of Persecution by Milton Meltzer.  This is a non-fiction read that traces the origin and progression of witch-hunts in western societies.  Readers of historical fiction may enjoy the amount and accuracy of historical detail in this book.

The Last Witch of Langenburg: Murder in a German Village by Thomas Willard Robisheaux.  This non-fiction account of the execution of an accused witch and her family gives a vivid look into beliefs in God and the Devil in a 17th century German village.  Readers who sympathized with Martha Stechlin in The Hangman’s Daughter may enjoy this read for its similar and historically accurate storyline.

A Midwife’s Tale: The Life of Martha Ballard, Based on Her Diary, 1785-1812 by Laurel Thatcher Ulrich.  This non-fiction book gives an historical account of what life was really like for a midwife.  Taken from the pages of Martha Ballard’s diary, the reader will begin to understand a midwife’s place in society, the complexity of sexual relationships in the 18th century, and the broad scope of a midwife’s medical knowledge.  Although this book is based on 18th rather than 17th century practices it was chosen for its first hand account of the practice.

Heal thyself: Nicholas Culpeper and the seventeenth-century struggle to bring medicine to the people by Benjamin Woolley.  This non-fiction book details the story of Nicholas Culpeper who promoted herbal medicine and challenged traditional 17th century medical practitioners. Readers who enjoyed Simon Fronwieser’s character may enjoy this book.



Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: